How I feel about Faulkner

by Sandra

Lordy, lordy!  So an absence of posts can only mean one thing — I’m under the thumb of the heavy hand of homework!  Remember homework?  Oh how quickly I’d forgotten.  I am a student again, and this transition has taken quite a while to get used to, even still.

Currently, for my literature class, I have to have read The Sound and the Fury, in its entirety, by this upcoming Thursday!  This, in my humble opinion, is barbaric!  Have you attempted to dip your nose in that book and make any sense from it?

Poor mother, I railed against the book today on the phone to her, desperately trying to procrastinate as long as I could.  Eventually though, with all my other distractions pushed aside, I had no choice but to tuck in…and what did I find in those pages?…I wouldn’t necessarily say enjoyment…but okay fine, it’s not as bad as I thought it was going to be…fine

Some parts are comprehensible, but they are fairly sparse throughout the book.  I just wonder why this work of fiction, so impenetrable, so maligned but students across the country (everyone I’ve spoke to about this assignment has rolled their eyes in disgust), has grown to be considered one of the great books in the canon of American literature?  Must masterwork but so inaccessible as to be rendered obtuse?  Can great literature be so obscure, so hard to follow, that only a handful of intellectual superiors can extrapolate it’s full meaning?  I mean, the analysis and notes in the back of my edition are longer than the novel itself!

Apparently I have managed to get through the hardest part of the story, the first section told from the point of view of the Compson’s retarded son.  This, I’ve been told, is the section that leaps around in time and italics the most, the section that follows the least linear line, the hardest to keep track of.  I’ll concede that Faulkner is clearly a master at what he’s done and is someone to learn from, full stop.  I’m just really hoping that the book becomes easier to navigate as the pages go on.

