the length of love

by Sandra

Today is the perfect Sunday. The L.A. sun is bright but not yet too hot; a breeze is blowing in from the Pacific. I had lunch with Levon after church and a quick coffee break with Corey before returning home to settle in to homework. It is a slow, laconic day. A day that reminds me what it means to take a sabbath, to rest easy and just be. Because the rest of this weeks has been about everything other than just “being.” Since getting back from Dallas I’ve been trying to figure out how integrate a work schedule back into a school schedule, how to get all my school work done in the remaining four weeks of the semester, and how to deal with one roommate moving out and another moving in.

And I almost entirely forgot that I went to Dallas for five days! But, I did.

I went to visit Laura and Jonathan, my two best friends from college. I have seen them intermittently since graduation but I’ve not hung out with both of them together since 2002. Needless to say, for as wonderful as it was to see them, it also took a while to grease the wheels of relational communication. But we finally got there, and in my brief visit I began to realize the true length of love. It’s much like light—traveling through time and distance to remain very much intact. I love the two of them for the way they wear their hearts on their sleeves; for their free spirits. I vowed, as I said my separate goodbyes to them, each one a sloppy embrace by the open door of Laura’s car, that even if the distance would remain, I would not let six or even three years come between us again.

We accomplished much during my stay. We spent an afternoon at Whiterock Lake, went to the zoo, went bowling, visited the DMA, watched one of Bob’s baseball games. I saw Lillian for a brief twenty minutes at DFW and I successfully broke my lenten fast that Saturday night as we danced the night away at a club called Minq.

What bright, halcyon days they were. And how thankful I am, not only for the deep love that can endure over years and miles, but also that I’ve had the opportunity to come west, to forge my own path and build my own life. It makes their gift of enduring friendship that much greater, my heart that much more appreciative.

